Team Juicy Racing's Racing School and Race Series Forums
Go Back   Team Juicy Racing's Racing School and Race Series Forums > Racing Schools & Race Series Forums > Race Series Discussions

Old 02-28-2012
Moving Chicane / Regular Member (<5 Posts)

New Member, A few Questions

Hi I'm Sam. I've been into racing ever since I was little. Particularly the open wheel series'. I've been karting for a few years too, and love it. I found this website in my search for a means to start my driving career. I also like cars and like to learn about what makes them tick. I currently work at a Dodge dealership in Wisconsin as a detailer. I like it as I am around cars and mechanics all the time.

I've come on here with a few questions. I have looked over the Sip Barber website and I see all sorts of different programs with different cars and time frames. Which one should I enter in order to start a career?
Old 02-28-2012
Grand Master
Carbon Fiber Keyboard (3,000+ Posts)

Gallery Images: 112
Re: New Member, A few Questions

Welcome Sam,

If you're partial to open wheel racing then there's no better place to start than a 3 day racing school. A 3-day school is open wheel basic training for racers the way ballet is mandatory basic training for most forms of dance. No matter what kind of racing you do down the road the open wheel 3 day will give you the maximum in experience and education in car control and situational awareness. The MX-5's are good but the open wheel cars being purpose built race cars with no compromise for comfort or street use give you the most direct feedback telling you instantly when you're doing things right or wrong. It can be both humbling and inspiring.

After your 3-day, assuming all goes well, you'll want to look at the 2 day advanced racing school that offers more wheel to wheel seat time with instructors and other racers to put you in the right frame of mind for open wheel competition.